Crochet Beret

1 skein worsted weight yarn

Crochet Hook size G

Gauge: 9dc= 2inches, 7rnds = 3 inches

Crown: Chain 4. Join with slip stitch to form a ring.
Rnd. 1: Ch 3, 13 dc in ring, join with a slip stitch to top of ch-3. 14 dc counting ch-3 a s 1 dc.
Rnd 2 : Ch 3, dc in same st with ch-3, 2dc in each st around. Join each rnd with a slip stitch (sl st) to top of ch-3 , 28 dc.
Rnd 3: Ch 3, 2dc in next st, * dc in next st, 2dc in next st; rep from * around . 42dc.
Rnd 4: Ch 3, dc in next st, 2dc in next st, * dc in next 2 sts, 2dc in next st, rep from * around. 56dc.
Rnd 5: Ch3, dc in each of next 2 sts, 2dc in next st, * dc in each of next 3 sts, 2 dc in next st ; repeat from * around.
70dc.

Continued in this way to inc 14 sts every rnd, having 1 st more between incs each rnd until there are 8 (9,10)sts between incs.
Work 3 rnds even.

1st dec Rnd: *Work 8 (9,10)sts, draw up a loop in each of the next 2 sts, yo (yarn over) and through 3 loops on hook ( 1 st dec); rep from * around. Join .
2nd dec. Rnd: * Work 7 (8,9)sts, dec; rep from * around. Join.

Continue in this way to dec 14 sts every rnd, having 1 st less between decs each rnd until there are 6 sts between decs.
Headband: Work 6 rnds of one sc in each st. Join and fasten off.

8 thoughts on “Crochet Beret

  1. Thanks I will try your crichet beret and let you know how it worked out. Sorry I live in South Africa and we don`t really know what worsted weight yarn is or a Gneedle but if I go according to the books I have it must either be a 4ply or double knit yarn we have here correct me if I`m wrong by sending me mail. My son found your site so I will in future return to see what you have to offer. Thanks Istella.

  2. BellBabe says:

    This was a good pattern, I used it and made a cute pink fuzzy beret. Now im only 15, but I spotted some mistakes that were easilly fixed. Just some things in the sizing. And for anyone else, dc means treble, sc means double crochet and size G needle is really size 4.00 mm. Thanks. I was looking for a beret pattern everywhere and yours was the only that looks right! Thaks SOOOOOOOO much!

    Bell

  3. katknit says:

    Hi BellB,
    I’m sure anyone wanting to knit this up will appreciate your corrections. Glad you liked the pattern!

  4. Appomattoxco says:

    I’m not sure if these are mistakes or just the difference between a American and British patern. YO once and pull through two one time is called a sc In the US. If I recall correctly, it’s a dc elsewhere.

  5. irlsgirl says:

    Hi KatKnit!
    I used your pattern to make berets for my family. I used smaller gauge thread and hook for my daughters (and got VERY tired), and am using bigger sizes now for my husband. it’s so easy, I’ve practically memorized your instructions and friends are “seriously kidding” me about making berets for them! Thanks so much! ^_^

Leave a Reply

