Vintage Gentlemen’s Muffatees

Gentlemen’s Muffatees

A Winter’s Gift for Ladies 1845
Two Needles, No. 14, 4 skeins of colored German lamb’s-wool, and 4 of white

Cast on 54 stitches; bring the wool forward, slip a stitch, and knit two stitches taken together; repeat the same to the end of the row; every row is the same; knit up one skein of colored wool, two of white, and finish the muffatee with one skein of colored wool; sew it up.

A vintage pattern from Handbook of Needlework, 1842

****************

I’ve never made this pattern, but would try it with size 3 or 4 needles, sport weight yarn (one 2 oz. skein), adjusting the number of cast on stitches to size. For more information about what muffatees are, and a picture of a different set that I did make, click here:

Muffatees

3 thoughts on “Vintage Gentlemen’s Muffatees

  1. missharleyquinn says:

    I’m working on a pair of muffatees for my mom at the moment, but I’m definitely trying this vintage pattern when I’m finished. Thanks for posting it. 🙂

  2. I’m so pleased to find out what they are called. A few years ago I made a basic stocking-stitch woollen pair, with ribbed cuffs, for autumn gardening. I’d like a pair of the delicate lace ones. The ones that are worn by frail Victorian ladies who lie about on settees expiring from costume-drama cough in historical films.

Leave a Reply

