Felting – ooops!!

mittens

Originally uploaded by katknit.

Felting (fulling) is an inexact art, unless you use the same yarn every time and really get to know how it will respond with respect to shrinkage. Here’s a way to restore size when a bit too much felting (oops) has occurred. It may also help if your piece has become creased.

Dissolve about 3 ounces of Epsom Salts in boiling water and let cool. Submerge item and soak for about a half hour. Squeeze excess water and stretch into correct shape on a flat surface.
When almost dry, press under a dry cloth with an iron on low to medium heat. Steam may help.

5 thoughts on “Felting – ooops!!

  1. Mariela says:

    Hello, I would like to know what those Epsom Salts are, since I live in Uruguay and don’t have that brand of ¿? here, but the product itself must be.
    I am learning a lot from you, too bad that I spent sooo much time in front of PC that I suffer from overdosis of What to do that, and I could do that, and to star rightaway. Thank you dearly,
    Mariela

  2. Su says:

    I read somewhere that you can also undo too much felting shrinkage by soaking the item in fabric softener, and gently stretching it. Has anyone ever tried this?? OH, how I wish I knew about this when I accidentally washed a handmade Norwegian sweater in the washer in hot water!! It came out big enough for a doll!

  3. Betsy says:

    Thank you so much for this tip! In about how much boiling water should I dissolve the Epsom Salts? I am about to try this on a sweater that accidentally got a little felted. If the Epsom Salts don’t work, I’ll try the fabric softener. Thanks again.
    Yours,
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

