Linda’s Picchu Picchu

A tale of a sweater.

Two years ago, my husband Tony and I took a wonderful trip to France, spending 3 weeks in the southern region of Languedoc, in the foothills of the Pyrenees. We rented a cozy, art filled apartment in the little known town of Couiza, a practice we’ve developed for all out trips abroad, because it’s much cheaper and more comfortable than staying in a hotel and eating out all the time. We visited many local markets, where we always try to buy our food for the meals we make at our home away from home, and at one of them, I was delighted to some upon a booth selling yarns and other needlework items. The price was fantastic, and I chose a bag of off-white wool blend yarn, with the Picchu Picchu sweater from Berroco in mind.

It didn’t take too too long to finish that sweater, and with excitement, I tried it on, only to find that the neckline was too big. Filled with dismay, I put it away with other UFOs. That sweater did not see the light of day again until 3 days ago, when for some reason unbeknownst to me (who knows what lights a fire under any knitter?!) I recalled it and dug it out. Ripped out the neckline ribbing, picked up fewer stitches this time, and hallelujah, it fits perfectly. So now, at long last, I’d like to introduce to the world, Linda’s very own finally finished Picchu Picchu!

And, in case you like it as much as I do, here’s the pattern link:

http://www.berroco.com/exclusives/picchu/picchu.html

5 thoughts on “Linda’s Picchu Picchu

Leave a Reply

