Love short rows!


shortrowscarves

Originally uploaded by katknit.

Last summer I bought a new addition to my growing knitting library and a new skill to my knitting repertoire. Short rows! It’s a knitting method that uses increases and decreases to create totally new shapes and designs. As you can see above, I knitted a couple of fun wavy-edge scarves in 2 different variegated yarns. This particular pattern comes from one of my new favorite books; I picked mine up at a knitting shop, but it’s also available online in various places:


This “Knitter’s Dozen” series is great. The selection of patterns is usually pretty nice, and this particular edition shows some near ways of using some of the new yarns in those gorgeous colorways. I had a fantastic time knitting these, and plan to make more.



2 thoughts on “Love short rows!

  1. Hello, Thank you for your comment – it’s nice to get feedback and to know that my efforts are appreciated. Good, fun title for your knitting blog and I adore the cute little smiley kitty avatar. The wavy knitting works quite effectively with variegated yarns. I also like this type of wave pattern http://www.knitlist.com/99gift/shell-and-wave-shawl.htm I’ve just finished my latest knit – a little red riding hood cape for my friend’s toddler, which will be posted up in The Attic, when she sends a picture of it being worn. Meanwhile I’m at a loss as to what to make next.
    Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

