Be My Valentine: Knitted Heart Socks


I made these in pink a couple of  years back, and really have enjoyed wearing them.

Lace weight yarn, size 2 (US) needles. From Crystal Palace Yarns.

pattern link

 

About katknit

Took early retirement (yay!) and now have more time to pursue my favorite things.
This entry was posted in fiber arts, knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Be My Valentine: Knitted Heart Socks

  1. cici says:

    these are so pretty, I love hearts. thanks for the pattern!

  2. Debbie says:

    Oh! I’m glad I found you. I want to make these cute socks for Valentine’s Day for my granddaughter. She is six-years-old, and she wears a size 11 children’s shoe size. I’m not great at converting patterns. Do you think if I use a size 1 needle, that these might be small enough to fit her? Could I cast on a smaller amount and make the heart pattern fit? I’ve looked everywhere for a little girl’s pattern like this, and I can’t find one.

    What do you think?
    Thanks!

  3. katknit says:

    Debbie, if you use the small needle and sock weight yarn, they should come out OK. The pattern is based on a 16 stitch repeat, and b/c I have small feet, I made mine by subtracting 16 stitches, which produced 3 hearts instead of 4. The pattern does require concentration till you get beyond the hearts and diamonds.
    Have fun! Please visit often.

  4. Sandra Rhule says:

    i have aproblem or two! What yarn is this,baby sock or fingering? i am in uk. when i googled, it seem like a Aran?worsted weight. your blog seems to suggest laceweigt?

    what is the correct yardage/meterage?

    what is the correct gauge and on wahat needles US or metric. ineed this info for substitution.

    Thank you for help in advance. please help me as i want to knit this for my valentine.

    Sandra

  5. katknit says:

    info about this lace weight yarn is here:
    http://www.straw.com/cpy/yarns/creme_card.html

    Info about gauge, needles, etc, is on the pattern in US and metric

    Glad you like the pattern!

  6. Sandra Rhule says:

    Gauge is not on pattern. Is it womens size medium.? I have read pattern.Would not ask, if info was given!!

    Sandra x

  7. katknit says:

    Hi Sandra,
    As written, it is a women’s medium. Are you going to make these?
    Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

