Knitting Tips: Fix a Too-Long Sleeve without Frogging


There are few things more aggravating than finishing a sweater and discovering the sleeves are an inch, or 2, or 3, too long. All that knitting, all that seaming. Though still not fun, I recently figured out how to shorten the sleeves without taking everything apart.

Snip a stitch or two at the cuff. Good project for when you’re watching TV. Unravel back to the length you need. Then, using some of that raveled yarn, take a crochet hook of the appropriate size and crochet a new border around the sleeve bottom. I use single crochet, but you can do picots or whatever you please. No, the cuff isn’t ribbed, but it’s still pretty and now you can wear a sweater that fits properly. Ta daaa!

About katknit

Took early retirement (yay!) and now have more time to pursue my favorite things.
This entry was posted in crochet, knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Knitting Tips: Fix a Too-Long Sleeve without Frogging

  1. annaliza says:

    I like it! Thanks! (Not that I’ll be needing to know anything like this, but perhaps I’ll be in a position to advise someone else … ahem.)

  2. Lilja says:

    What a clever idea. It’s truly one of the things that can be frustrating… :)
    Thanks for the advise!

  3. circleofone says:

    I always try to make my sleeves the correct length, but I thank you for this clever idea. I will file this one away for future reference.

  4. MrPuffy says:

    Cool idea! I hate that when that happens ~ and despite measuring over and over it can still happen :)

  5. Turtle-chan says:

    Thanks a lot for the info. I’ve never knitted a sweater before, but when I do I’ll try my best to remember this! :)

  6. irene bennett says:

    i bought a crocheted top the sleeves are too long i don’t know how to crochet are there any other way to shorten crochet sleeves, overlock maybe.

  7. Sheila in St. Louis says:

    I checked the web for how to shorten sleeves on a knit sweater today and somebody said there was a description of this in “The Big Book of Knitting”. I put in on hold from my library, so I haven’t read it yet. You may want to check your library. Don’t know if their solution also applies to crocheted sweaters. Can you hem the sleeve under a bit?

  8. Pingback: Frogging Ride | ReeknittingwordswithGod

Leave a Reply

