Knitting News: Karen Allen Fiber Arts


Actress Karen Allen is also knitting artist Karen Allen. A few weeks ago, she was featured on CBS Sunday Morning, not for her acting, but for her fiber arts business, which is located in western Massachusetts. I got curious, and found her website, and was treated to an avalanche of color and texture. She works primarily is cashmere, and combines hand and machine knitting, designing gorgeous garments that are inspired by ancient and modern textiles from around the world. She also has a retail shop, but her products are pretty pricey. But it doesn’t cost a thing to look, so check out her website, full of beautiful creations.

Word is, Karen owes Harrison Ford a scarf!

http://www.karenallen-fiberarts.com/home.php

About katknit

Took early retirement (yay!) and now have more time to pursue my favorite things.
This entry was posted in fiber arts, knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting News: Karen Allen Fiber Arts

  1. Lori says:

    How neat! I didn’t know that about her.

  2. Brad Hansen says:

    Speaking of Karen Allen, I wrote an unsolicited script for a Starman sequel back in 1998. It was my first script and I quit college to finish it. It’s been gathering dust ever since. I sent it to Jeff Bridges and John carpenter, although I would prefer if Carpenter didn’t direct a sequel. I wrote some good f/x sequences and some interesting characters. I’m pretty sure I’ll never be involved, but I’d to see the f/x scene from the beach being incorporated, (Jeff’s manager Neil will know the one, totally plagiarised from another movie, but it would look great on film today). If anyone has any questions, email me at hansenfilm@yahoo.ie and I’ll answer them. (Although I won’t give away any plot points. And yes there is a son and indeed, I actually have the perfect casting suggestion!!

  3. Teddy says:

    Wow she does beautiful work! Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Melinda Potosky says:

    Wonder if they do custom hand work?

Leave a Reply

